Zope Foundation

Zope Foundation logo

Zope Foundation General Meeting minutes - 2012-03-16

Date and Time: Friday, March 16, 2012, 15:00 UTC
Location: IRC meeting, irc://irc.freenode.net/#zope-foundation

Members Present:
- Agendaless Consulting (represented by Tres Seaver)
- Blake, Kit (joined later)
- Drake, Fred
- Faassen, Martijn
- Fulton, Jim
- GFU Cyrus AG (represented by Aroldo Souza-Leite)
- gocept gmbh & co. kg (represented by Christian Zagrodnick)
- Ineichen, Roger
- McDonough, Chris
- Mitchell, Alec
- Page, Rob (joined later)
- Regebro, Lennart
- Richter, Stephan
- Schlichting, Hanno
- Seaver, Tres
- Vagelpohl, Jens
- York, Benji
- Zagrodnick, Christian
- Zetwork GmbH (represented by Jens Vagelpohl)
- Zope Corporation (represented by Jim Fulton)

- Call to Order
- Roll call and quorum test
- Vote on the proposed meeting agenda
- Zope Foundation progress report
    - Progress since last year
    - Tasks for the new board
- Financial report
- Seating of the new Board of Directors
    - Election results presentation
    - Vote on accepting the election results
    - Thank you to the outgoing board
    - Thank you to retiring board members
    - Seating of the new board
    - Arranging the first board meeting
- Adjournment

Call to Order
The chairman Tres Seaver calls the meeting to order at 15:18 UTC
after the secretary Jens Vagelpohl confirms that quorum has been

Roll call and quorum test
At 15:18 the secretary confirms that 13 nominated members and
representatives for 5 sponsor members are present. The bylaws
stipulations for a quorum are thus met and the chairman declares the
quorum has been reached.

Vote on the proposed meeting agenda
The chairman asks for any disagreement with the proposed agenda.
There is none and the proposed agenda is ruled adopted by

Zope Foundation progress report
The chairman presents a look back at the outgoing board's work
and suggests directions for the board elect.

- The foundation has welcomed 10 new contributors and 2 new
  sponsor members
- We have a new zope.org website, thanks to Andreas Jung and the
  website team
- ZTK releases 1.0.2-1.0.6 and 1.1.1-1.1.4 have been published,
  thanks to Hanno Schlichting, Christophe Combelles and
  Jan-Wijbrand Kolman
- Zope releases 2.12.17-2.12.23 ans 2.13.6-2.13.13 have been
  published, thanks to Hanno Schlichting and other release
- Four CVEs were handled by the security response team, some
  in conjunction with the Plone security team

As ongoing and new challenges the chairman lists several items:

- Hanno Schlichting is retiring after a lot of hard work as
  Zope release manager, we need a new person for this job
- The ZTK team is also losing Hanno as Zope representative and
  will need a replacement
- The foundation has received a request to switch away from the
  current code version control system and infrastructure, this
  topic needs debate and a decision

A short discussion on the VCS system issue follows, which Martijn
Faassen boils down to two separate core questions: What is the
foundation legally allowed to do given its role as guardian of the
code, and what technology developers prefer. The members agree to
move the discussion to the email lists, the chairman will send
email to the foundation list outlining a decision making process:

- technical discussion on the [email protected] list to reach as
  many developers as possible
- then discussion on the foundation member list and eventually
  a vote on the final decision

One more ongoing issue is the non-profit application process. The
chairman is working on restarting it, and has heard from other
software foundation representatives that they face problems as
well, most likely due to the Mozilla Foundation's potentially
problematic creation of a for-profit company as subsidiary of their
non-profit foundation.

Financial report
Since neither the previous nor the current treasurer are present
the chairman points everyone to the last financial report given to
the board[1].

Seating of the new Board of Directors
The secretary presents the election results. Since the number of
nominees ended up less than the number of open seats the board
decided to forego an actual election and consider the nominees
elected by acclamation. The following candidates comprise the
new board:

- Page, Rob
- Rush, Jeff
- Seaver, Tres
- Smith, Jan
- Souza-Leite, Aroldo
- Vagelpohl, Jens

After asking for any objections and receiving none, the chair
rules the new board seated by acclamation. A resolution thanking
the incoming and outgoing board members is passed by the majority of
members present.

Arranging the first meeting of the new board is postponed because
not all of them are present. The chairman will create a Doodle and
send out the link for a meeting the following week.

The chairman rules the meeting adjourned at 15:47.

These minutes were written by the secretary, Jens Vagelpohl,
according to the notes taken during the meeting.

These minutes were posted to the [email protected] mailing
list and approved by all directors on March 21, 2012.

The chairman bid the Secretary keep these minutes on file.

[1] http://foundation.zope.org/minutes/zfbod-minutes-20120131