Zope Foundation

Zope Foundation logo

Zope Foundation General Meeting minutes - 2011-03-16

Date and Time: Wednesday, March 16, 2011, 15:00 UTC
Location: IRC meeting, irc://irc.freenode.net/#zope-foundation

Members Present:
- Agendaless Consulting (represented by Tres Seaver)
- Cameron, Tom
- da Silva, Sidnei
- Drake, Fred
- Fulton, Jim
- gocept gmbh & co. kg (represented by Christian Zagrodnick)
- Groszer, Adam
- McDonough, Chris
- Page, Rob
- Poster, Gary
- Regebro, Lennart
- Richter, Stephan
- Rush, Jeff
- Schnerring, Wolfgang
- Seaver, Tres
- Smith, Jan
- Theune, Christian
- Vagelpohl, Jens
- Withers, Chris
- York, Benji
- Zagrodnick, Christian
- Zetwork GmbH (represented by Jens Vagelpohl)
- Zope Corporation (represented by Rob Page)

- Call to Order
- Roll call and quorum test
- Vote on the proposed meeting agenda
- Zope Foundation progress report
    - Progress since last year
    - Tasks for the new board
- Financial report
- Seating of the new Board of Directors
    - Election results presentation
    - Vote on accepting the election results
    - Thank you to the outgoing board
    - Thank you to retiring board members
    - Seating of the new board
- Adjournment

Call to Order
The chairman Tres Seaver calls the meeting to order at 15:05 UTC.

Roll call and quorum test
The chairman asks for a roll call, which is done by the secretary
Jens Vagelpohl. 19 nominated members and representatives for 4
sponsor members are present. The bylaws stipulations for a quorum are
thus met and the chairman declares the quorum has been reached.

Vote on the proposed meeting agenda
The chairman asks for any disagreement with the proposed agenda.
There is none and the proposed agenda is ruled adopted.

Zope Foundation progress report
The chairman presents a look back at the outgoing board's work
and suggests directions for the board elect.

From the current board's todo-list[1] several items have been
finished off:

 - the Zope Foundation is no longer relying on ZC for
   accounting and physical address
 - Christian Theune and the folks at gocept managed to organize
   the Zope Summit
 - The SVN repository now reflects the change in code copyright
   ownership, which switched from Zope Corporation to the
   Zope Foundation

In addition, several other achievements stand out:

 - 24 new contributors have been signed up, for a new total of
   422 contributors.
 - ZTK release management is now handled by a dedicated release
   team reflecting all "customers": Hanno Schlichting/Zope2,
   Christophe Combelles/BlueBream and Jan-Wijbrand Kolman/Grok.
   This team has released ZTK versions 1.0 and 1.1, which allowed
   the Zope2, BlueBream and Grok teams to create their own
   releases that leverage the stabilized ZTK code base.
 - The Zope Foundation now has a dedicated Windows build and
   test server, set up by Sidnei da Silva and Adam Groszer with
   a donated software development environment from Microsoft. This
   build server builds Windows release packages and tests them.
 - the Python 3 porting process has started, thanks to Lennart
   Regebro and Jim Fulton, among others. 7-8 of the most
   depended-on ZTK packages have been ported already.

Unfortunately, several items remain on the list:

 - the new zope.org site effort is stalled again
 - the foundation's non-profit application process has not

In closing, the chairman encourages all members to start
developing a new vision for the future as a group.

Financial report
The treasurer Gary Poster presents the current financial status.
With assets of $67,340.69 and no liabilities the foundation
financials have remained stable.

The most pressing issue right now is filing taxes, which will be
taken up with the new accountant.

The old accounting data from Zope Corporation remains locked up in
Peachtree files. Gary will continue trying to get them into
QuickBooks Online, the new accounting solution chosen by the
board. He promises to finish off both tasks by the time the new
board convenes.

Seating of the new Board of Directors
Tres Seaver presents the election results. Since the number of
nominees ended up matching the number of open seats the board
decided to forego an actual election and consider the nominees
elected by acclamation. The following candidates comprise the
new board:

- Jung, Andreas
- Poster, Gary
- Rush, Jeff
- Seaver, Tres
- Smith, Jan
- Theune, Christian
- Vagelpohl, Jens

After asking for any objections and receiving none, the chair
thanks Stephan Richter, who is leaving the board, and the new
member Jeff Rush.

As his last act in the role of foundation chairman, Tres Seaver
rules the new board seated.

The outgoing treasurer Gary Poster moves to adjourn the meeting,
which is seconded by the secretary. After receiving a majority
of 16 votes for adjournment the outgoing chairman adjourns the
annual meeting at 15:43 UTC.

These minutes were written by the secretary, Jens Vagelpohl,
according to the notes taken during the meeting.

These minutes were posted to the [email protected] mailing
list and approved by all directors on March 19, 2010.

The chairman bid the Secretary keep these minutes on file.

[1] http://foundation.zope.org/board/todo_2010