Zope Foundation

Zope Foundation logo

Zope Foundation General Meeting minutes - 2010-02-24

Date and Time: Wednesday, February 24, 2010, 17:00 UTC
Location: IRC meeting, irc://irc.freenode.net/#zope-foundation

Members Present:
- Almeida, Leonardo Rochael
- Drake, Fred
- Faassen, Martijn
- Fulton, Jim
- McDonough, Chris
- Poster, Gary
- Regebro, Lennart
- Richter, Stephan
- Schlichting, Hanno
- Seaver, Tres
- Smith, Jan
- Theune Christian
- Vagelpohl, Jens
- Withers, Chris
- York, Benji

Sponsor member and representatives present:
Agendaless Consulting (represented by Tres Seaver)
gocept gmbh & co. kg (represented by Christian Theune)
ZeOmega (represented by Sathya Rangaswamy)
Zope Corporation (represented by Rob Page)
ZOPYX Ltd. (represented by Andreas Jung)

- Call to Order
- Role call and quorum test
- Vote on the proposed meeting agenda
- Zope Foundation progress report
    - Progress since last year
    - Tasks for the new board
- Financial report
- Seating of the new Board of Directors
    - Election results presentation
    - Vote on accepting the election results
    - Thank you to the outgoing board
    - Thank you to retiring board members
    - Seating of the new board
- Adjournment

Call to Order
The chairman Martijn Faassen calls the meeting to order at 17:03 UTC.

Role call and quorum test
The secretary Jens Vagelpohl asks for a role call. 15 nominated
members and representatives for 5 sponsor members are present. The
bylaws stipulations for a quorum are thus met and the chairman
declares the quorum has been reached.

Vote on the proposed meeting agenda
The chairman asks for any disagreement with the proposed agenda.
There is none and the proposed agenda is adopted.

Zope Foundation progress report
The chairman presents a look back at the outgoing board's work
and suggests directions for the board elect.

Community highlights from last year include the separation of the
Zope Toolkit (ZTK) from the former Zope 3, and the renaming of Zope
3 to BlueBream. Several microsites have been established, such as
zope2.zope.org or zodb.org. Grok 1.0 has been released in that
timespan as well.

Foundation achievements include establishing committees to handle
the copyright transition and streamlining the contributor application
process. The contributor rolls have been cleaned up under the new
copyright rules, which had to be changed due to the finally-finished
copyright transfer from Zope Corporation to the Zope Foundation. A
hosted CRM instance is now used to manage membership and contributor
records, and receiving documents from members and contributors has
become easier with the establishment of a Fax-to-email system. A
new design for zope.org is close to being finished with the aid of
DZUG e.V. and Andreas Jung.

The future will see a further separation of foundation logistics
from Zope Corporation, which had been handling the banking and
accounting side since the beginning. The still-going non-profit
application process needs to be finalized. The zope.org and
zopefoundation.org domain names need to be moved under foundation
control. The foundation wants to help selecting release managers
for important projects like Zope 2 by establishing processes for
this kind of transition. The old zope.org front page needs to be
replaced by a page that points to the various micro-sites that have
been established over the last years. Last but not least, the
foundation is going to organize a Zope Summit to hash out the
foundation's role in the community and find ways for it to become
more relevant and attract more members.

The chairman ends his report by thanking especially Rob Page and
Jens Vagelpohl for their work.

Financial report
The treasurer Rob Page presents the current financial status. With
assets of $67,886.54 and no liabilities the foundation financials
present a healthy picture. Revenues ($1,952.30 YTD 2010) are
dominated by sponsor membership dues, and expenses ($1,020.81 YTD
2010) are mostly due to server hosting and accounting services.

Seating of the new Board of Directors
Tres Seaver presents the election results. In our election,
33 ballots have been cast, one of which was empty. Votes were
tabulated using the OpenSTV application and the "Meeks STV"
method. We had 8 candidates running for 7 board seats. The
following candidates were elected to the new board:

- Jung, Andreas
- Poster, Gary
- Richter, Stephan
- Seaver, Tres
- Smith, Jan
- Theune, Christian
- Vagelpohl, Jens

Fred Drake moves to accept these election results, and Tres
Seaver seconds the motion. The motion passes with 18 votes in
favor and none against.

The chairman thanks the outgoing board for their work. Going
through last years board meeting minutes he was surprised at
how much work had been done. Tres Seaver then moves to thank the
outgoing chairman Martijn Faassen for his hard work last year.
The motion is seconded by Rob Page and accepted with 15 votes in
favor and none against. Tres Seaver then moves to thank the
outgoing treasurer Rob Page for his work, which is seconded by
Jens Vagelpohl and passed with 10 votes in favor, none against.

As his last act in the role of foundation chairman, Martijn Faassen
welcomes the new board, which is now officially seated.

The outgoing chairman adjourns the annual meeting at 17:37.

These minutes were written by the secretary, Jens Vagelpohl,
according to the notes taken during the meeting.

These minutes were posted to the [email protected] mailing
list and approved by all directors on February 25, 2010.

The chairman bid the Secretary keep these minutes on file.